Skip to Content

ICYMI: Blake Shelton Was The Big Winner At The CMT Video Awards

La Crosse, WI, United States / KICKS 106.3
ICYMI: Blake Shelton Was The Big Winner At The CMT Video Awards

Blake Shelton was the big winner at the 2018 CMT Music Awards, airing live from Nashville’s Bridgestone Arena on Wednesday. Blake grabbed two awards, including the biggest honor of the night, Video of the Year, for “I’ll Name the Dogs.” For that same video, he also took home Male Video of the Year, remarkably his 10th win in that category.

Carrie Underwood, already the most-awarded act in the history of the CMT Music Awards, continued her amazing streak by picking up her 18th belt buckle for “The Champion,” featuring Ludacris.

Hosts Little Big Town won for Group Video of the Year for “When Someone Stops Loving You.”

And Dan + Shay nabbed their first Duo Video of the Year award for “Tequila.” Don’t forget, they’ll be with us at Ashley For The Arts in Arcadia in August!

Other first time winners included Carly Pearce for Breakthrough Video of the Year for her haunting breakup ballad, “Every Little Thing.” “To the guy who broke my heart…Thanks!,” she exclaimed as she accepted the belt buckle. Kane Brown walked off with Collaborative Video of the Year, along with Lauren Alaina for “What Ifs.” Kane revealed that it was his first award of any kind. It was Alaina’s second consecutive win for breakthrough video.

The Backstreet Boys and Florida Georgia Line won performance of the year for their CMT Crossroads performance of “Everybody.”

A number of artists used the evening to premiere new music, including Dierks Bentley and Brothers Osborne combining for “Burning Man”; Florida Georgia Line with “Simple”; and Kelly Clarkson covering the Guess Who classic “American Woman,” which she recorded for Paramount Network’s new series of the same name. Little Big Town performed “Summer Fever”; Sam Hunt unveiled “Downtown’s Dead”; and Backstreet Boys sang their new one, “Don’t Go Breaking My Heart.”

Other performances included Kelsea Ballerini with “I Hate Love Songs”; Carrie Underwood delivering her latest, “Cry Pretty”; and Chris Stapleton with “Millionaire”

The show closed with the supergroup “The Troublemakers” — Darius Rucker, featuring Jason Aldean, Luke Bryan and Lady Antebellum’s Charles Kelley — performing the raucous new song, “Straight to Hell.”


Leave a Reply