So you just sent a scathing Facebook message to your ex, but maybe it was done before you really thought about it and now you’re wishing you could take it back. Well, now you finally can take back your ill-conceived messages on Facebook. Facebook Messenger will soon roll out an “unsend” feature, which will give users a grand total of ten minutes to unsend a message, wiping it from your chat history. This will remove the message from the recipient’s inbox as well.
Facebook announced the upcoming feature in the “coming soon” section of its latest rundown detailing what’s new in the latest version of Facebook Messenger on the App Store. Facebook’s release notes read:
“Remove a message from a chat thread after it’s been sent. If you accidentally send the wrong photo, incorrect information or message the wrong thread, you can easily correct it by removing the message within ten minutes of sending it.”
Currently, while Facebook users can delete messages that they sent from their own inbox, the recipient of the message can still see them.